A lost face: What I looked like before the accident

There are precious few photos of me as a child before the  accident. The original is not much bigger than a postage stamp, so we had it restored and enlarged. It lay forgotten until I started this blog so I thought of sharing it with you.  The date on the back is 1954,  It’s not the only photo and I plan to add more media later. However, the image is clear enough and shows me in my pram outside our home in St Dominick’s Terrace, Cork, where the accident occurred in 1956.

As I said, there are others. But the most precious one – and we have begun to search at home – is a photo taken a couple of weeks before my life changed forever. Unfortunately, there are few family photos in existence from when I was a child, partly because we didn’t have a camera. There are great shots from a photoshoot to mark our arrival in our new home in Glasheen and I may add one to a future blog.

In the meantime, here’s me in 1954. Given that I was born on October 2, 1953, your guess is as good as mine as to how many months old I was then. My son looked the image of me then, quite a shock – and a delightful surprise.

This is marked 1954 taken outside our home in St Dominick's Terrace, Cork.
This is marked 1954 taken outside our home in St Domniick’s Terrace, Cork.
One thought on “A lost face: What I looked like before the accident

  1. Hi Tom,

    Hope you don’t mind me getting in contact, but I’m conducting some research at the University of Nottingham that is interested in exploring the experiences of adults over the age of 50 who are living with a burn injury(s). I’m looking to recruit participants to take part in an interview and wondered if you would be interested at all? If you are interested, or would like to find out more about the research then please get in contact with me (lwxbj1@nottingham.ac.uk) and I will be able to send over the information sheet which explains the process fully.

    Hope to hear from you soon.

    Bethany

Leave a Reply

