Thanks, thanks and thanks again

Well, that was exciting! Having an article in the Irish Examiner and being interviewed by John Murray on his show made for a nervewracking and exciting morning. Having to get back to work meant responding to the avalanche of texts, Facebook comments, calls, emails, tweets, RTs and DMs pretty tricky so please forgive me if I have been a little slow in replying. I am thrilled to bits by your encouragement, and the over 400 hits on my blog today. Awesome.

I will reply to all comments or emails from anyone who is inhibited in any way by scars or facial disfigurements. I understand the pain it causes, and I will be as supportive as I can. To all of you who help spread the word about the Irish Examiner article and the John Murray appearance you have my gratitude. 

The blog will continue, of course, and I hope you’ll be witnesses to that journey. A book is a while away – so much writing yet! But I am further along that path than I expected and I won’t give up now. I have had a lot of ups and downs, lots of tears and sadness. It seems almost a lifetime away, and yet like yesterday. I am a better person for coming through it all, for finding a wonderful wife and best friend in Trish, and for my lovely children who brighten up each day.

I have plenty to write about, good and bad. I haven’t even scratched the surface. 

 

7 thoughts on “Thanks, thanks and thanks again

  1. Courage, courage, courage. I think we’ve another name for that in Cork.
    Courage can be seen as fancy. Suggests fella dressed up in gimpy gear, sword drawn, atop the stallion, fair maiden bidding adieu as the Horatio furiously fingers through Proust to choose a grave-side oration knowing the soft lad won’t last the first charge..
    No. In Cork it’s visceral. It’s bloody-mindedness. It’s clenched teeth. Under a mouth that’ll still curl up a smile. A hand’ll reach out for a firm handshake. Time’ll be found to shoot the breeze about the weather, GAA, the family, that Pint; and you’re off.
    Never letting on.
    Because you never let on.
    And never letting on means never letting go..
    Now finally that grip has loosened..
    May the healing begin!

    Courage is not simply one of the virtues, but the form of every virtue at the testing point.
    C. S. Lewis

  2. I’m ever so pleased you’re going to carry on – with both
    (1) facial disfigurement – your experience & supporting others
    (2) Tom’s views on life.

    The phrase “there is life beyond disfigurement… there is life deeper that disfigurement” comes to me. I think you’ve said that already.

Leave a Reply

