In search of Tom Hickey

Most people find their way to my blog because I link via Twitter, Facebook and LinkedIn. Others know the blog at hickeysworld.com, or people share on Facebook and retweet on Twitter. Yet others are good enough to link via their own blogs, for which I’m very grateful.

But some people find me because they search via the internet. Some are pretty straightforward because I have written specific posts that match, such as “happy birthday to my daughter” or variations on the same theme. Others fill me with sadness and great empathy. And then there are ones that bring a smile to my face.

Ah, “hickeys”, those wonderful little love bites. Little did I think when I started blogging I’d be grateful for hits from “hickey on my face”, or “getting a hickey what to do n how not to flintch”, “hickey normal again”, “guys giving hickys cam”, “how long hickey last in ear”, or my personal favourite, “if I get a hickey Monday 3am when will it be gone”. Frankly, I know nothing about such things, except, eh, time will heal.

Some searches are despairing, like “I need to end my life”, or “end my life”. I really wanted to reach out and help those people but I had no way of discovering who they were. I felt the same about this: “I’m ashamed of my facial disfigurement.” I wanted to say you needn’t be, but again I couldn’t locate that person. “Would he marry a person with facial disfigurement” was another search, done before I wrote a post on exactly why those with facial disfigurement can find happiness. Then there was this: “how to disfigure your face without pain”. that one left me perplexed.

“Facial disfigurement and job applications” was one search I hope the enquirer found an answer to and I will blog on this in the near future. “My girlfirend has a facial disfirgment” left me a load of questions, from wondering if she had issues or he had. It’s hard to tell sometimes. Some touch on themes I have covered, for example “disfigurement loneliness”, “encouragement for disfigurement”, “I’m disfigured will I find love”, “how to get past facial disfigurement”, “how do people accept acquired facial disfigurement”, “how do people cope with facial disfigurement”, “facial disfigurement stared at”. Others I must get around to, such as “parents coping with a disfigured child”.

Of course people use search engines to find answers, and that’s what I try to do in these blog posts. Sometimes people don’t want to leave a comment because their identities may be revealed. I respect that, but I can be contacted at any time at tomhickey.tom@gmail.com if there are issues relating to facial disfigurement you would like to talk about. I will treat them in the strictest confidence.

2 thoughts on “In search of Tom Hickey

Leave a Reply

