A work in progress – like me

image

Ok, so here’s where I’m at with the book. I have lots of raw material based on the blogs I have written to date, although these obviously need to be fleshed out in a lot more detail. There is also a need to create a structure for the book which I have to do yet.

I don’t find the task daunting at all. Well, just slightly. There are also parts of my life I haven’t spoken about yet and they will appear only in the book.

I interviewed my mum and sister almost a year ago, but have only just started to transfer the content onto the computer. I should have that done by the end of the week. There was a lot more there than I had expected – my mum’s alone is around 6,300 words and Lorraine’s should run to slightly more. Trying to get an accurate record isn’t easy, and replaying an iPhone recording is even trickier. Already I realise I will need to go back with more questions. My sister was the only one present when I was burned, and my mum’s memory is beginning to falter a little, so I need to ask relevant questions quickly. I am putting those questions together now. Still, on the positive side, I inputted mum’s interview today so that’s not bad. Now to Lorraine’s.

I still have some background work and checking to do before I put pen to paper (well, I will be using a computer, but you get my drift). So far so good. The sooner I have the transcripts down and the follow-up interviews out of the way the sooner I can get stuck into the real writing. Not such a simple process after all.

I do have an introduction out of the way and a good chunk of one chapter and parts of another. i will also draft a timetable so that I can hit targets for writing. Someone says I should aim for 1,000 words a day. What do you think?

Of course the book is therapeutic because it keeps my mind occupied. It’s not that I don’t have other things to keep me busy, like reading, watching TV or seeking work, but time is a great enemy, especially in the winter when it’s not so easy to step outside your front door.

Oh, and I still haven’t come up with a title for the book. Suggestions please…

Leave a Reply

