Here’s to another 30 years

image

On March 22, 1985, Trish and I were married. Yep, 30 years have spun by in the blink of an eye and we’re off to celebrate so this post is going out a day early. No matter.

If you’re a regular reader of my blog – and shame on you if you’re not – then you’ll know how much I love Trish. We’ve had some amazing times, some sad ones too, but there hasn’t been a day that I have questioned why I married her. You can’t say much more than that.

I thought our marriage was on the rocks the morning after our wedding when I left our air tickets behind in the hotel in Cork – this as we were about to arrive at Dublin airport to catch a flight to Tenerife. It wouldn’t be the last time I’d forget something, or let her down, but she always forgave me. She has been my rock in those 30 years.

If there’s a magic formula to a successful relationship I don’t know what it is. I’m a lazy sod at times but she knows what buttons to press to get me to do things. She believed in me when I thought no girl would. She is a fantastic mother, a beautiful wife, incredibly understanding and a great listener. I have never been bored in her company, and while we do have arguments every now and then, I can’t remember any that have been serious. She has always encouraged me to believe in myself, especially in those early years after we first met and I lacked confidence and self belief.

When our son Alan was born with spina bifida she coped incredibly well. She was the one who chased the consultant and medical staff for updates on his condition; she had to cope with a pregnancy during those harrowing 22 months and with Alan’s final few months while also looking after Daire. I don’t know how she did it.

Now that I have left the Irish Examiner we see a lot more of each other and that’s perhaps the best thing about life now. So, as we head off for a few days to celebrate our Pearl Wedding Anniversary here’s to my fantastic, adorable Trish. Let’s hope we manage at least another 30 years together.

7 thoughts on “Here’s to another 30 years

Leave a Reply

