Back working and ready for the challenge

Sometimes life can surprise you. Last weekend I was unemployed, but this week I’m back at work, only not in the newspaper world. What an amazing start to the new year.

Last weekend Trish and I had a beautiful few days away in Killarney. I had an interview on Tuesday and last Thursday I joined Teamwork.com, an expanding project management software company. It’s an opportunity to use my writing skills and try something far removed from my previous role. I loved working in the Irish Examiner, but that’s the past and Teamwork.com is the future for me. I’m up for the challenge and excited to be back at work after a year-long absence.

The first couple of days settling in were great. There’s a wonderful enthusiastic crew at my new company and I’m looking forward to the future. It means some major adjustments to the way I have been living for the past year.  I had to brave the black ice on Friday morning and ended up with a badly bruised arm when I slipped on the footpath on my way to the bus. Not exactly the ideal start. In my unemployed days I would have waited for the ice to melt before venturing out. Not any more.

I did think that finding a job at this stage in my life would be virtually impossible, so fair play to Teamwork.com and co-founder Peter Coppinger for dispelling that notion, and giving me a chance. How many other firms would do so?

Unfortunately, my changed circumstances meant I had to decline an invitation to two memoir-writing workshops run by author Lia Mills. At least I had a good excuse! Another time perhaps. The hectic past week also put a halt to blogging, but you can’t have everything. At least today’s blog puts that break in context.

Anyway, wish me luck in my new job.

 

 

 

 

14 thoughts on “Back working and ready for the challenge

Leave a Reply

